Olympics and back-to-school prep have taken over my life.

This is not an exciting post, I’m afraid. All I’m going to do is say that I’m reading two books and give general thoughts on them, explain why I haven’t reviewed anything for a couple weeks, and promise to do so soon. Ready? Good.

I’m currently reading The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Hidden Inheritance by Edmund de Waal. I am also reading The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe. I began The Hare with Amber Eyes first; it’s a nonfiction family history of sorts that centers around a collection of 264 tiny Japanese carvings (called netsuke) passed from family member to family member down through the generations. It’s an interesting read, combining art and cultural history, major world events, and family lineage and stories. I constantly feel like I’m learning new things about people and places, from the humble to the well-known. However, it’s a bit dry. I’m enjoying it, but in the sense that I might also enjoy a trip to the museum or looking through family photos from generations past.

So, I decided to add a purely fun book on the side. I picked up The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane more or less at random at the bookstore’s “Last Chance” sale rack. The back of the book promised a story of a modern girl with ties to the infamous Salem witch trials, with all the obligatory blurbs from positive reviews. It sounded pretty good, and I have always been interested in the history of witchcraft and the cultural responses to it, especially as they shift and change over the centuries. I’m only about 50 pages in, but I’m liking it so far. It’s fast-paced, balancing history with action and relatable characters (especially for a history/literature nerd about to go for a graduate degree herself!). It balances well against the heavier material of The Hare with Amber Eyes.

The reasons I haven’t posted anything recently are simple. You can probably guess, especially given the title of this post. Yep! The Olympics. Pretty much since they started, my productivity has tanked. Then, when I do manage to tear myself away from the sporting events, I have a lot to do to get ready for this upcoming school year, when I’ll be beginning graduate school. So… limited time for reading, even less time for blogging. I’m working on improving the ratio, though.

I will post reviews as soon as humanly possible after I finish each respective book. Promise.

Alright… I do believe that covers everything advertised in the beginning of this modest post. Until next time, happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Check-in

Leave a Reply

