This is serious.

I just discovered something alarming. I decided to make a Google doc to keep track of my book “To Buy” list (since it seemed more efficient and trustworthy than the dozens of post-it notes plastered all over my desk), and I have 49 books that I want right now. Keep in mind, I add at least one book a week to this list.

Now, couple this with the knowledge that I currently have 52 books in my house that I have yet to read. Fifty-two. That’s just the physical books. I have at least another dozen unread e-books on my Nook. They just keep piling up! This is not for lack of effort, mind you. I admit I have been reading very little over the past few weeks because of finals/grading/end-of-school-ridiculousness, but I’m still trucking along on China Miéville’s The City and The City. (Sidenote: I really like it so far, and it’s definitely making more sense than it did when I began it. I will post a review when I finish, but that’s unlikely to happen before I’m done at work for the school year.)

I did some quick math, and the results are disheartening. I need to read at least one book a week, for a full year, without buying any new ones, in order to break even. Now, over the summer, I’ll probably do better than that pace. Once the new school year starts, though, all bets are off. I’m starting a graduate program in English Literature — which I’m insanely excited for — but which will likely cut into my non-class-related reading time, especially since I’ll be teaching two sections of English 101 on top of my own course load.

So, the dilemma is this: do I try to instill some self-discipline, and cut myself off from buying new books for a solid amount of time, or do I give in and gleefully wallow in my book addiction? Since it’s me, I’m of course leaning toward the latter, but we’ll see what happens when I’m living on the meager salary of a graduate student.

Happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Check-in

Leave a Reply

