The Festival Approaches!

It’s almost time for the 2012 Tucson Festival of Books! I am so tremendously excited. The festival is a hugely popular event here in Tucson, and has grown in leaps and bounds every year since its inception in 2009. Though young, the festival here attracted over 100,000 visitors last year, and more are expected this year. Though it is not the largest book festival in the nation (yet!), the Tucson Festival of books features 450 authors that give talks, lead seminars, teach lessons, and of course sign books and host meet-and-greets.

The featured authors cover every conceivable genre and topic, and there is no shortage of events to attend. There are literally more to choose from than you could possibly hope to attend. Today, there was a multi-page pull-out guide to the festival in the Arizona Daily Star (Tucson’s newspaper). I am already circling authors, starring events, and mapping out my tactical assault on the festival. Of course, if it’s anything like last year, I’ll have to do as much as I can cram into Sunday, as I’ll spend most of Saturday wandering from venue to venue in a happy bibliophile daze. There will be a score of booksellers setting up temporary shop on the grassy U of A mall; there will be books and book-themed merchandise galore. I can’t wait! Last year I got at least six or seven books, plus a t-shirt and a really cute tote bag. I expect nothing less for this year.

For more information on the Tucson Festival of Books, visit the official site at: http://tucsonfestivalofbooks.org/section/index

Hope to see lots of fellow book lovers there, March 10 & 11, at the University of Arizona’s main campus! I’ll be sharing my own experiences and impressions after I visit.

Happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Check-in, Current Events

Leave a Reply

